Welcome to the 2019-2020 school year!
NOW OFFERING ALL DAY KINDERGARTEN!

While Canon School District is committed to creating educational experiences that will provide all children with a solid foundation for life-long learning, we provide this feature in a safe learning environment through our Make Your Day Citizenship Program.

Dear Black Canyon Parents and Community,

Here is our plan for the final weeks of school. Stay safe and we miss you all dearly!

Learning Time
Teachers will still be available 8am to 3pm (except half days-we still do training) on normal school calendar days.

Official Educational Paper Packets
Final packets will be given out this Monday, May 18th. Your child will have the rest of the year to finish packets that were required and to work with their teacher. The work for the weeks of the 25th through the end of the year is not mandatory and is a lot of review. Your teachers will still be touching base with you once a week.

Next Year
Canon plans on opening as normal on July 30, 2020. If new developments happen this summer and we have to change, we will let you know as soon as possible…but we’d like to go back to normal and we really miss our students and families.

Precautions
Canon will clean all desk areas daily and places of high activity for students. Sanitizer stations will be in the office as soon as you walk in the door. The teachers have gutted and cleaned their rooms and taken out some items that may tend to hold germs.

Communication with Parents/Students:
Your teacher will be the point of contact with families for the educational program. Teachers shall be available daily to support student questions, grade, and complete individual online professional development and daily planning.

Teacher Extension Email
Ta’Sarah White Kinder ext 306 twhite@canonsd50.com
Christine Brown 1st Grade ext 305 cbrown@canonsd50.com
Patty Tiefenthaler 2nd Grade ext 304 ptiefenthaler@canonsd50.com
Olivia Huntimer 3rd Grade ext 303 ohuntimer@canonsd50.com
Ashleigh Ochsner-Nelson 4th Grade ext 302 anelson@canonsd50.com
Audrey Smith 5th Grade ext 202 asmith@canonsd50.com
Janice Fortier 6th Grade ext 203 jfortier@canonsd50.com
Jessica Smith 7th grade ext 204 jsmith@canonsd50.com
Melissa Norman 8th grade ext 205 mnorman@canonsd50.com
Trinka Hall Principal/Head Teacher ext 106 thall@canonsd50.com
Charles Ciarametaro Special Education ext 104 cciarametaro@canonsd50.com
David Ecker P.E. ext 101 decker@canonsd50.com

Please call 623-374-5588 and your teacher’s extension to speak with them.

Links to consider for online learning:
• Reading Eggs (K-2nd Grade)
• Moby Max
• Khan Academy

https://www.lifehack.org/articles/technology/25-killer-websites-that-make-you-cleverer-2.html

Student Meals
We have a plan in place to distribute grab and go breakfast and lunches for ALL students 18 and younger. The last day for student meals is June 3rd…enjoy summer!

CALL FRIDAY TO ORDER MONDAY’S LUNCH

Breakfast and lunch must be ordered the prior day by 12:00 p.m. PLEASE only contact Café Manager Dana Maldonado at 623-374-5588 ext 403 or email her at dmaldonado@canonsd50.com. DO NOT CALL PAULA FOR BREAKFAST AND LUNCH 😊

Please state:

1. Number of breakfast and lunches needed
2. Student names
3. Distribution area- Harmil Plaza or Canon School parent pick-up.

You may contact the front office with any questions and see you (sort of) next week! Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to education. We love our community.

Angela E. Jangula-Superintendent and Trinka Hall-Principal
Canon ESD #50
ajangula@canonsd50.com and thall@canonsd50.com